Skip to content

iLabs: Winogradsky Column Project Update Coming

July 12, 2012

Here is a beginning glimpse of one of our Micro World ongoing projects – The Winogradsky columns.

We started them at the end of May and covered them for 2 weeks with foil. Here’s a couple of photos of the initial set up and the covered bottles. Soon to come, what’s going on and how are they doing now?  Stay tuned!

Winogradsky column in a soda bottle just set up

Here is the “standard” Winogradsky column bottle after putting in the soil and ingredients and water at the end of May 2012. Now it’s ready to wrap in foil for two weeks.

Winogradsky columns wrapped in foil

Here’s our standard and extremophile Winogradsky columns wrapped in foil for their two weeks in the dark. Soon to come, what do they look like now in mid-July?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elise and Grace Dunzo permalink
    July 16, 2012 11:58 am

    Hi Deb and other Winogradsky Experiment Participants!

    My daughter, Grace (7) and I are setting up two columns in the next few days. Our hypothesis is:

    Soil is alive and therefore bacteria will grow. However, the characteristics of growth are a function of the nutrients added to the soil.

    To test this hypothesis, we will “feed” the columns different nutrients. One colum will only receive added sugar and carbon, while the other colum will recieve sugar, carbon, sulfur, nitrogen, phosphorus and minerals.

  2. July 19, 2012 4:46 pm

    Elise, I am looking forward to seeing how all your efforts turn out and very excited that you are going to do the project along with us. I hope you keep up updated on the columns’ progressions. You can always email me photographs and I can update the blog. Also, I like the idea of your setting up a third column with sand and all the nutrients. This is going to be quite the approach. Keep us posted! My email is: debra.bailey@ncdenr.gov

  3. Melissa Oakley permalink
    August 31, 2012 1:01 pm

    Hi Deb, I just wanted to let you know that I have got my supplies ready and I am about to get the classes to chose different treatments for their columns. I can not wait to get them posted. Thanks for putting all the information together for me.

    • August 31, 2012 4:30 pm

      Melissa – that sounds great!! I hope to see you and your class in November or whenever it can be scheduled so we can do a class on this with all of you! Looking forward to hearing how it goes. Have a great weekend
      Deb

Leave a Reply

